When 900 Years Old You Reach…Look So Good, You Will Not. – Watching Star Wars, Part 5 (Episode VI)

Time to do a recap of Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi, released in 1983. (When I was still not born.)

This concludes machete order. It’s been…a fairly peaceful and short journey. I’ve enjoyed myself a lot. I may have even become a fan of the franchise.

Jabba is absolutely disgusting.
Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.02.32 PM.png
And finally, I understand what the famous Leia costume is all about…though doesn’t Jabba being next to her in most of the scenes where she’s wearing it make it kind of a waste?

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 12.51.07 PM.png
Why did I find this so amusing?

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.05.11 PM.png
I knew this guy would be back! It’s the bounty hunter’s kid clone, right? (That said, I was hoping for a better explanation of his story.)

So Yoda is 900. That answers some questions.
Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.11.31 PM.png
And Luke and Leia are siblings…does everyone just ignore the fact that Leia kissed her brother in Episode IV??

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.20.09 PM.png
Am I the only one who finds the fish head scientist distracting?

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.22.41 PM.png
Hobbits! I don’t know what these guys are called, but they’re really cute.

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.32.06 PM.png
My favorite shot of this movie.

1) Let us never forget what a shitty father Vader was! He is domestically violent to his wife, completely ignores Leia, and only saves Luke at the very end. He also dies at the very end, abandoning them after being redeemed. A model parent, he is not.

2) I think that each trilogy is like a three-act play, no wonder they have Shakespearian versions of the movies in book form. I, II and III make a tragedy/tragic romance, IV, V and VI make a heroic epic drama…what will VII VIII and IX be?

3) So far, my ranking of the movies:

III&V

VI&IV

II

4) I do recommend Machete order for people who are watching this movie for the first time, though I imagine watching it in release order is good too. In the lucky case you aren’t yet spoiled for the big reveal, it’s definitely best to start with IV and V.

5) Strangely, It feels awkward calling it sci-fi. It’s more fantasy/adventure to me. Guess that’s why they call it ‘space opera.’ I imagine the story could work just as well even if it wasn’t set in space.

_______________________________________________
Next: Episode VII: The Force Awakens (Yup, the new one. Went to see it over new years.)

To re-watch: Episode I: The Phantom Menace

Leave a Reply

