“Started Making Sense, This Story Has” -Watching Star Wars, Part 3 (EPISODE II)

Okay, now on to Star Wars Episode II: Attack of The Clones.
It was released in 2002, when I was still in middle school.

After watching IV and V, we get to see what I’m pretty sure is Darth Vader’s origin story. Despite the up-to-date graphics and CG, we’ve taken a jump back in time. I do remember parts of this movie, which means I’ve watched it sometime before, but it’s a good refresher for what is to come. And after seeing IV and V, a lot of things make sense now. And there were so many references and call backs to the original trilogy that made it fun to watch.

Let’s see the blow-by-blow:

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 1.00.46 PM.png

First of all, I feel for Obi-Wan. This story was basically Obi-Wan doing his best not to screw everything up and Anakin making his life impossible. Poor guy.

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 1.00.59 PM.png

Even Jar-Jar looks like he’s pitying him. He knows what’s up.

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 1.10.16 PM.png

Part one of the game, “Where have I seen this before?”

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 1.11.58 PM.png

“Poison Dart” –> WHY are you touching it with your bare hands?!

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 1.13.12 PM.png

I don’t know who this guy is, but he looks evil. Also, he’s talking about immortality. Ergo, he is evil.

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 1.16.57 PM.png

Girls, if you tell a guy to stop doing something that makes you uncomfortable and he makes this face? Don’t fall in love with him. Call the police. Creepy, Anakin. Creepy.

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 1.18.31 PM.png

“I hope he doesn’t do anything foolish” –> Who wants to bet that he will later on in the movie?

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 1.19.23 PM.png

I love the small detail where he’s pulling up his pants.

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 1.22.00 PM 1.png

This face is extremely creepy.

 

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 1.24.10 PM.png

Winner of the “Prettiest shot” competition. I want a galaxy map like that.

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 1.43.24 PM.png

Wait…is this the couple that raises Luke in Episode IV???

 

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 1.46.00 PM.png

Creepy face #201

 

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 2.16.01 PM 1.png

Master Yoda’s badass entrance!

 

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 2.17.10 PM.png

I have a feeling we’ll be seeing this kid again soon. Revenge story?

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 2.20.21 PM.png

OOOOOHHHHH it’s the death star!! Things are coming together!!!

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 2.23.46 PM.png

#notimpressed

 

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 2.29.21 PM.png

Love the way master Yoda fights. He’s so fast all of the screencaps came out as a blur.

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 2.32.07 PM.png

It’s that guy from the hologram in Episode IV!!!

  • Things are finally starting to make sense. The Death Star, the Dark side, Obi Wan and Anakin too.
  • I really see now that I was deceived by Episode I Anakin, whom I assumed to be a good guy when I was a kid. (I was still in elementary school!) Do not be fooled by the cuteness, this kid is dangerous. Definitely villainous material.
  • Starting to see a trend of arms getting lopped off.
  • The character I really feel for is Obi-Wan in this movie. Nobody listens to his instructions.
  • I really want to know what happens in VI already, but patience, young padawan, patience.
  • The romance was very very awkward, and a lot of the acting was, too. But I’m pretty sure by now nobody is coming to see Star Wars for the acting.
  • The various outfits for Padme were interesting, I liked the blue long dress the best. (Also, the black one was obviously used to distract the audience from the acting during that terrible romance scene.Onwards to Episode III: Revenge of the Sith, which I have never seen. We’ve now hit the halfway point! No turning back now!

 

Leave a Reply

